Things I missed

Just a couple of points I meant to make in my last blog post, but missed:

  • Keswick has a big graphite mine, and as such has some sort of close connection to the pencil industry. They have a “pencil museum” with the world’s largest pencil. It has a name: Drew. I couldn’t make this stuff up if I tried.
  • Our hotel is deep in the countryside, surrounded by trees and a stream and walking paths. It’s all quite beautiful.
  • There are apparently red squirrels here, which is a big deal. Britain has native red squirrels, and an invasive species of large grey squirrels which are eating all the red squirrels’ food or something, so the little red squirrels are in decline and the big grey squirrels are everywhere and everyone’s rooting for the little red squirrels. It’s all very reminiscent of some sort of fable.

I think that’s it. I’m tired and not feeling well so I need to get to bed. If you don’t hear from me for a day or two, I’m not dead, the Internet access is just awful.

Posted on May 27, 2012, in travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Bhahahahahaha!!! Drew! Because it’s a pencil! Perhaps it is called ‘Drew’ now but was formerly known as Prints? *dies laughing* *has another drink*

  2. Oh, I so wanted to comment about Drew…but I see Lisa beat me to it. And perhaps that’s best…because it’s Monday morning and I haven’t been drinking…but I found the name choice amusing nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

