Day of the Triffids

A coworker pointed me at a set of insect photos today, and after reading the photographer’s description of his equipment and technique, I was all gung-ho to go home and take some close-ups of my own…

I took enough to make another album on my main gallery site. These are two of my favourites. I made two changes to my technique: I started using a home-made paper flash reflector (kind of like this one), and I switched to manual mode (1/200 sec @ f/11 or so). I had to use -3 stops of flash exposure compensation, which is the most my flash will allow.

Oh, and the first picture is cropped. I can’t get that close full-frame.

Posted on January 25, 2007, in Photo 365, Photography. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

