It’s too cold to take good pictures

This one was sort of inspired by this picture over on Cher’s Photography. I went outside to see if I could get some pictures that communicated the coldness…and I couldn’t. It was -35, which turns out to be really bad weather to try to take pictures in. I was outside for under 15 minutes, and when I came back in I couldn’t feel my fingers (no exaggeration).

I got another picture that I think should have been better, but it just seems boring to me:

Posted on January 12, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oo, I like the second one! You can see the fine layer of frost on everything, and it just seems like such… urban art. With the kind of simplicity I enjoy. Perhaps taken from a slightly lower angle would have added a dimension and reduced what you think is boring. But hey, your tastes and mine do differ sometimes.

    As for the first one, did you use a special lens? I’m guessing not, but the angle gives it a feel of bending outwards on the edges. Not bad. I just like the second better 🙂

  2. Thanks! The reason I think it’s boring is because it seems like such a simple, obvious shot. I didn’t really put any thought into it — in fact, as I was framing the shot, I was thinking “This is a boring picture”, and almost didn’t take it. It wasn’t really the type of picture I was after at the time, so it may be that I’ll look back in two weeks and say “Hmm, actually that’s not bad.”

    For the first one: I didn’t use a special lens, but it’s a fairly wide-angle shot, which is what gives that impression. I took an even wider one of some apartment buildings (which I almost posted) that -really- looks distorted.

  3. No offense to either of you.. but when I look at Cheryl’s picture, I think more of pollution than cold. Darryl’s picture makes me think of a really cold clear day, more like the days that I’m used to. But it might just be because I’m not around those kind of buildings as often.

Leave a Reply

