Christmas at home

Didn’t have time to take pictures at work today. The sky was beautiful on the way home (just after sunset), but there aren’t any particularly scenic views near my house, and when I saw the nice ones on the way home, there was nowhere to pull over. On the principle that a bad January 3 picture is better than no January 3 picture, I tried a few shots of silhouetted trees, but wasn’t particularly satisfied with them. When I turned to go into the house, I saw the snowman on our front step, and decided to try for a picture of it lighting up the snow and bricks.

Not bad, for an off-the-cuff shot with no real inspiration. I don’t like the way his hat blends into the house, but I do likethe effect of the light on the snow. The shot was hand-held: 1/60 sec @ ISO 1600 (f/5.6, making this about eight stops below Sunny 16).

Posted on January 3, 2007, in Photo 365. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

